Skip to content
Tags

What’s Good for the Soul

April 11, 2012

I don’t have much of a morning routine, but what is regular about the start of my day is my music.   Almost as soon as I get up, I switch on my stereo.   Yes, I still have a stereo and yes, I still listen to the radio.   And the music that pours through during these early hourshelps me get through my morning grog and be ready for  the day ahead.   I had a good music morning moment recently when I flipped through the radio to land on an interview with Melanie Fiona about her new album.   Besides some amazing songs, I left ththe house that morning feeling like I had just gotten a bonus.

That’s the every morning thing, but like other people music is a part of my all day experience.  I wear the mp3 player to work and often at work. I listen to the soundtracks of Gladiator and Blood Diamond to zone in to work.  So many songs evoke memories.  “Highway to the Danger Zone” will forever be attached to Top Gun, just as the entire “My Life” album will be eternally equated with the years when I was coming of age.

And so I woke up this morning and saw this video and felt so lucky to have seen this.   This video is of Henry, a lovely senior who immediately captured my heart with his musings about Cab Calloway and jamming to music.  According to his caretakers, and the rather misplaced British commentator, he is rarely responsive, but with music he has been “quickened.”  I

Old man reacts to music from his era

I hope that I get to live a life as long as Henry’s, and I hope that when I do someone realizes just how important music can be to our soul.  It brings feelings and thought, it triggers memories, it brings livelihood.

From → Simple Things

One Comment
  1. Mom permalink

    You’ve done the music thing since you got your very first radio. Before you had that radio, every morning while you were growing up I put the radio on and that’s how we started our day – a mix of music, news, and talk. As William Congreve said, “Music hath charms to soothe a savage breast, to soften rocks, or bend a knotted oak.”

Leave a Reply

